Skip to main content

Architizer A+ Awards Special Mention

Go Back

Published on:

November 6, 2023

Architizer A+ Awards Special Mention

The STEAM Pavilion design/build by NewSchool of Architecture & Design undergraduate students received an A+ Awards Special Mention from Architizer in 2016.

The pavilion was designed and built in 2015 for the STEAMConnect’s annual conference focusing on lectures, debates, and workshops revolving around the links between Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics. The STEAM Pavilion idea originated from the necessity to accommodate the activities that take place at the annual conferences of STEAMConnect. These activities involve talking, sitting, eating and, above all, meeting. The NewSchool student designers for the project believe that architecture is a clear combination of Science, Technology, Engineering, Math and Art, so addressing the necessities of the STEAMConnect annual reception was a perfect example of STEM + Art disciplines coming together, blending creativity, design, and technical skills.

The pavilion was built by architecture students Freddy Bravo, John Colwart, Marika-Anne De Ocampo, Aipeng Fang, Travis Garcia, Guy Hartwig, Emilio Ingrasci, Heiarii Li Cheng, Guillermo Menjivar, Madison Parsons, Austin Richards, Anthony Rodriguez, Andrew Schiffer, Yangyi Situ, Justin Soderlund, Tobey Toney and Salvador Vicente – under the direction of architecture faculty Ramiro Losada-Amor and Victor Navarro, and with design and construction assistance of Alberto García.

In 2016, the design/build received an A+ Awards Special Mention from Architizer.

About Architizer: Architizer is the world’s largest and fastest growing website for architecture has launched the definitive architectural award program with 115+ categories and more than 350 jurors. The Architizer A+ Awards received thousands of entries from a 100 countries and represents the best of architecture and design worldwide. Winners are chosen by our illustrious jury including such industry luminaries as Denise Scott Brown, Bjarke Ingels and Tom Kundig, as well as personalities from beyond architecture like Tony Hsieh (CEO, Zappos), Yves Behar (Fuseproject), John Edelman (CEO, Design Within Reach), Cameron Sinclair (Architecture for Humanity) and Barry Bergdoll (MoMA).