Skip to main content

Accreditation and Licensures

Institutional Accreditation

NewSchool of Architecture & Design is regionally accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)
Marina Village Parkway
Suite 500
Alameda, CA 94501

Questions about NewSchool’s accreditation status?

Contact Dr. Dutchie Reid, Accreditation Liaison Officer at NewSchool, at

Programmatic Accreditation

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

NewSchool of Architecture & Design offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

  • Bachelor of Architecture (225 undergraduate credits)
  • Master of Architecture (pre-professional architecture degree + 90 graduate credits)
  • Master of Architecture (unrelated undergraduate degree + 150 credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2024

On January 31, 2020, the NAAB Board of Directors approved the 2020 Conditions for Accreditation and Procedures for Accreditation, for publication on February 10, 2020. All programs are required to utilize the NAAB 2020 Conditions and Procedures for Accreditation for all accreditation purposes, except in the case of Interim Progress Reports (IPR). Programs whose previous term of accreditation requires IPR(s) will continue to submit IPRs to address identified deficiencies, consistent with the changes NAAB made to the Interim Progress Reporting requirements in July 2020, outlined below.

On October 28, 2022, the NAAB Board of Directors approved revisions to the 2020 Procedures for Accreditation, effective January 1, 2023. Please review via the links below:

The information below is from the 2015 NAAB Procedures for Accreditation.

On May 6, 2015, the Directors of the National Architectural Accrediting Board, Inc (NAAB) approved the final edition of The NAAB Procedures for Accreditation, 2015 Edition. This edition governs all visits scheduled for calendar 2016.

The information below is from the 2014 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation.


For Professional Degree Program in Architecture

The National Architectural Accrediting Board announces the release of the 2014 Conditions for Accreditation, which outline the minimum requirements for an accredited, professional education in architecture.

The 2014 Conditions go into effect on April 1, 2015, and apply to all accreditation actions and visits scheduled to take place after January 1, 2016. All programs, including candidates, with visits scheduled for 2016 must use the 2014 Conditions.

The 2014 Conditions for Accreditation are the result of three years’ collaborative effort between the NAAB, The American Institute of Architects, the American Institute of Architecture Students, the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards. Several other scholarly organizations and individuals also contributed to the process.

Division Name20192020202120222023
Construction & Evaluation5559415251
Project Management5360404550
Project Development & Documentation4748384342
Practice Management3835363928
Project Planning & Design3840293136
Programming & Analysis3657464436

*For more information, visit the NCARB website.


  • NewSchool is approved to train veterans and other eligible persons under Title 38, United States Code.
  • Approved by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to Grant I-20 certificates for international students.
  • Approved by the U.S. Department of Education and California Student Aid Commission to conduct a full financial aid program (USDOE, CSAC).
  • An AIA Certified Continuing Education Provider.


NewSchool, its faculty, and/or its staff hold membership in the following organizations:

  • ACE (Architecture, Construction, and Engineering) Mentor Program
  • Architectural Research Center Consortium (ARCC)
  • Associated Schools of Construction
  • Association of Building Science Educators (ABSE)
  • Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)
  • American Council for Construction Education (ACCE)
  • American Institute of Architects
  • American Society of Professional Estimators
  • Citizens Coordinate for Century 3 (C-3)
  • Council for Higher Education Association (CHEA)
  • Construction Managers Association of America
  • Construction Specifications Institute (CSI)
  • East Village Association
  • International Code Council
  • International Fire Code Institute
  • National Association of Foreign Student Affairs (NAFSA)
  • National Association of Architectural Libraries
  • National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFA)
  • National Trust for Historic Preservation
  • San Diego Downtown Partnership
  • San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • San Diego Architectural Foundation (SDAF)
  • San Diego Council of Design Professionals
  • Society of American Military Engineers
  • Society of Building Science Educators (SBSE)
  • Society for Design Administration
  • U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
  • US Green Building Council, San Diego Chapter