Skip to main content

Awards & Rankings

NewSchool Recognitions

NewSchool students and alumni have the dedication and drive to achieve great things. Curious
and innovative, our students continuously strive to gain knowledge and experience that will
advance their academic and professional careers.

Industry Awards and


NewSchool of Architecture & Design is a globally recognized, globally awarded design school. Some of
our recognitions include:

  • One of the first 14 programs in the United States to be accepted for participation in the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Integrated Path to Architectural Licensure (IPAL) initiative (2015)
  • 1st regionally accredited school in the state of California to be certified and recognized as a “Military & Veteran Supportive Campus” by the Accrediting Council for Military & Veterans Education and Training (ACMVET) (2016)
  • Media Design student wins 2016 National ADDY Award by American Advertising Federation
  • Student team wins 1st place, Design/Build at Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Regions 7 Competition (2016)
  • Student team wins 1st place, second year in a row at Design Build Institute of America’s (DBIA) 2015 National Student Competition – Western Pacific Region (2015)
  • Student team wins 1st place, Design/Build at Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Regions 7 Competition (2015)
  • Student team wins 1st place, Virtual Design and Construction at Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Regions 6 & 7 Competition (2013)
  • Media Design students win 5 local and regional ADDY Awards in 2016 by American Advertising Federation
  • Top 30 in the World Master of Architecture program by Masterclass: Architecture. Guide to the World’s Leading Graduate Schools by Frame Publishers. (2014)
  • Top 25 Architecture Graduate Programs in the country by (2014)
  • Top 5 schools in the U.S. setting “The Future of Design Education: Teaching Innovation” by Interior Design Magazine (2013)

Student Awards

The American Institute of Architects awards the prestigious Henry Adams Medal to the top-ranking graduating student in each National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited Architecture program. A Certificate of Merit is also awarded to the second-ranking graduating student recognizing their excellence in architecture. Recipients are:

  • Nick Wilson | Undergraduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Medal (2016)
  • Conor Brown | Graduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Medal (2016)
  • Amanda Wynne | Undergraduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Certificate of Merit (2016)
  • Max Magac | Graduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Certificate of Merit (2016)

Evolved from the “Designer of the Year” award, the Outstanding Design Award is one of NewSchool’s oldest student awards. The award is unique as it focuses on design and is looked at as innovative or very accomplished. Any work associated with the award is looked to be of the highest possible visual and material quality. The 2016 recipients are:

  • Anina Varghese | Undergraduate, Architecture (2016)
  • Megan Power | Undergraduate, Interior Architecture and Design (2016)
  • Meghan Golden | Undergraduate, Interior Architecture and Design
  • Conor Brown | Graduate, Architecture
  • Amanda Schilling | Undergraduate, Construction Management (2016)

Since 1931, the Alpha Rho Chi Medal has recognized graduating architecture students for their leadership and service and what they offer the future of the profession. Alpha Rho Chi believes strong leaders are just as essential as strong designers. The award was established to recognize qualities not necessarily pertaining to studio and scholarship.

The fraternity awards the Alpha Rho Chi Medal, cast in bronze, annually to a graduating senior at each accredited school of architecture in the United States and Canada. Judged by the faculty of each school, the medal is presented to the graduating senior who has shown an ability for leadership, performed willing service for his or her school or department, and gives promise of real professional merit through his or her attitude and personality. (Source:

  • 2016: Harpreet Basi
  • 2015: David Garcia
  • 2014: Tony Salamone
  • 2013: Carla Wijaya (Undergraduate)
  • 2012: Lauren Pasion (Undergraduate)
  • 2011: Laura Duhachek (Undergraduate)
  • 2011: Paul Davis (Graduate)
  • 2010: Stephen Neil Russell (Undergraduate)
  • 2010: Paul Leonard Davis (Graduate)
  • 2009: Brian Macias (Undergraduate)
  • 2009: Brandon Hubbard (Graduate)
  • 2008: Lauren Garza (Undergraduate)
  • 2008: Holly Meyer (Graduate)
  • 2007: Nate Hudson (Undergraduate)
  • 2007: Michael Watts (Graduate)