NewSchool of Architecture & Design is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC).

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)
985 Atlantic Avenue, #100
Alameda, CA, 94501

Commission Action Letter – Reaffirmation Visit March 2019

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

NewSchool of Architecture & Design offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

  • B. Arch. (225 undergraduate credits)
  • M. Arch. (preprofessional degree + 90 graduate credits)
  • M. Arch. (non-preprofessional degree + 150 credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2024

2014 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation

The information below is from National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) website:

NAAB Conditions for Accreditation
For Professional Degree Program in Architecture

The National Architectural Accrediting Board announces the release of the 2014 Conditions for Accreditation, which outline the minimum requirements for an accredited, professional education in architecture.

The 2014 Conditions go into effect on April 1, 2015, and apply to all accreditation actions and visits scheduled to take place after January 1, 2016. All programs, including candidates, with visits scheduled for 2016 must use the 2014 Conditions.

The 2014 Conditions for Accreditation are the result of three years’ collaborative effort between the NAAB, The American Institute of Architects, the American Institute of Architecture Students, the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture, and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards. Several other scholarly organizations and individuals also contributed to the process.

2015 NAAB Procedures for Accreditation

The information below is from National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) website:

2015 Procedures On May 6, 2015, the Directors of the National Architectural Accrediting Board, Inc (NAAB) approved the final edition of The NAAB Procedures for Accreditation, 2015 Edition. This edition governs all visits scheduled for calendar 2016.

NewSchool is:

  • NewSchool is approved to train veterans and other eligible persons under Title 38, United States Code.
  • Approved by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to Grant I-20 certificates for international students.
  • Approved by the U.S. Department of Education and California Student Aid Commission to conduct a full financial aid program (USDOE, CSAC).
  • An AIA Certified Continuing Education Provider.

NewSchool, its faculty, and/or its staff hold membership in the following organizations:

  • ACE (Architecture, Construction, and Engineering) Mentor Program
  • Architectural Research Center Consortium (ARCC)
  • Associated Schools of Construction
  • Association of Building Science Educators (ABSE)
  • Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)
  • American Council for Construction Education (ACCE)
  • American Institute of Architects
  • American Society of Professional Estimators
  • Citizens Coordinate for Century 3 (C-3)
  • Council for Higher Education Association (CHEA)
  • Construction Managers Association of America
  • Construction Specifications Institute (CSI)
  • East Village Association
  • International Code Council
  • International Fire Code Institute
  • National Association of Foreign Student Affairs (NAFSA)
  • National Association of Architectural Libraries
  • National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFA)
  • National Trust for Historic Preservation
  • San Diego Downtown Partnership
  • San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • San Diego Architectural Foundation (SDAF)
  • San Diego Council of Design Professionals
  • Society of American Military Engineers
  • Society of Building Science Educators (SBSE)
  • Society for Design Administration
  • U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
  • US Green Building Council, San Diego Chapter
Find your place at NewSchool in 2021.APPLY NOW