In 1980, the late Richard Welsh founded NewSchool of Architecture in a small industrial building in Chula Vista, California. Welsh had a vision: a superb professional education program that culminated with the Bachelor of Architecture degree.

Change and growth came quickly. In 1988, NewSchool of Architecture relocated to central downtown San Diego and, in 1989, Bislin Education Corp. (a wholly owned subsidiary of Futures in Education, Inc.) purchased the school. Soon after, more architecture degree programs were added: the Associate of Arts, the Master of Architecture, and the Master of Science in Architecture. In 2001, ForeFront Education, Inc., acquired the school and changed its name to NewSchool of Architecture & Design.

From its earliest days, NewSchool offered an evening class structure to accommodate a large number of working students. In 1991, NewSchool was institutionally accredited. Many mid-career professionals interested in changing vocations were attracted to the afternoon and evening schedules available for NewSchool’s architecture degree programs.

In 1998, NewSchool’s Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch) and Master of Architecture (M.Arch) were accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB).

In July 2008, NewSchool was acquired by Laureate Education, Inc., a global network of more than 60 institutions offering undergraduate and graduate degree programs to more than 1,000,000 students around the world. NewSchool’s highly regarded architecture and design programs complement Laureate’s global network of higher education institutions.

In 2014, NewSchool was awarded regional accreditation by the WASC Senior College and University Commission.

In 2016, NewSchool received an 8-year re-accreditation by National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) for its Bachelor of Archictecutre, First Professional Degree and Master of Architecture, First Professional Degree.