Outstanding Student Awards


The American Institute of Architects awards the prestigious Henry Adams Medal to the top-ranking graduating student in each National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited Architecture program. A Certificate of Merit is also awarded to the second-ranking graduating student recognizing their excellence in architecture. The 2016 recipients are:

  • Nick Wilson, of San Diego, California, Undergraduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Medal
  • Conor Brown, of Green Bay, Wisconsin, Graduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Medal
  • Amanda Wynne, of San Diego, California, Undergraduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Certificate of Merit
  • Max Magac, of Shasta, California, Graduate, Architecture, Henry Adams Certificate of Merit


Evolved from the “Designer of the Year” award, the Outstanding Design Award is one of NewSchool’s oldest student awards. The award is unique as it focuses on design and is looked at as innovative or very accomplished. Any work associated with the award is looked to be of the highest possible visual and material quality. The 2016 recipients are:

  • Anina Varghese, of Kerala, India, Undergraduate, Architecture
  • Megan Power, of Victoria, British Columbia, Undergraduate, Interior Architecture and Design
  • Meghan Golden, of Boston, Massachusetts, Undergraduate, Interior Architecture and Design
  • Conor Brown, of Green Bay, Wisconsin, Graduate, Architecture


  • Amanda Schilling, of Apple Valley, California, Undergraduate, Construction Management


Since 1931, the Alpha Rho Chi Medal has recognized graduating architecture students for their leadership and service and what they offer the future of the profession. Alpha Rho Chi believes strong leaders are just as essential as strong designers. The award was established to recognize qualities not necessarily pertaining to studio and scholarship.

The fraternity awards the Alpha Rho Chi Medal, cast in bronze, annually to a graduating senior at each accredited school of architecture in the United States and Canada. Judged by the faculty of each school, the medal is presented to the graduating senior who has shown an ability for leadership, performed willing service for his or her school or department, and gives promise of real professional merit through his or her attitude and personality. (Source: https://www.alpharhochi.org)

  • 2016: Harpreet Basi
  • 2015: David Garcia
  • 2014: Tony Salamone
  • 2013 Undergraduate: Carla Wijaya
  • 2012 Undergraduate: Lauren Pasion
  • 2011 Undergraduate: Laura Duhachek
  • 2011 Graduate: Paul Davis
  • 2010 Undergraduate: Stephen Neil Russell
  • 2010 Graduate: Paul Leonard Davis
  • 2009 Undergraduate: Brian Macias
  • 2009 Graduate: Brandon Hubbard
  • 2008 Undergraduate: Lauren Garza
  • 2008 Graduate: Holly Meyer
  • 2007 Undergraduate: Nate Hudson
  • 2007 Graduate: Michael Watts